Our Historic Building

The historic Delaware Academy of Medicine building was extensively renovated by its new owners in 2003 with the assistance of Builders & Managers, Inc. and Bernardon Haber Holloway Architects PC of Wilmington, DE.

The original 6,900 SF building, built in 1816, was located at Sixth and Market Streets in downtown Wilmington, where it was once home to the National Bank of Delaware. In 1931, it was disassembled, moved and reassembled brick-by-brick at its current location, 1925 Lovering Avenue in Wilmington. The building, which was expanded in 1958 to more than double its size, was home to the Delaware Academy of Medicine for nearly 70 years. In 2003, it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places by the Department of the Interior.

In November 2002, the building was sold to the owners of the Wilmington law firm of Gordon, Fournaris & Mammarella, P.A. ("GF&M"), who paid for the extensive renovations to the building. Selected as construction managers, Builders & Managers, Inc. retained Bernardon Haber Holloway as the architects to assist in the historic preservation of the building, while renovating the interior to accommodate the growing needs of GF&M.

The original 1816 portion of the building serves as the reception area and conference rooms for GF&M, which showcases restored crown molding, cornices, marble baseboards and wood floors. The Academy of Medicine leased the library portion of space on the third floor until 2006, while the balance of the three-story structure was designed to accommodate private offices, an open working environment and other administrative and operational areas for the law firm.

GF&M is proud of its law office and maintains its commitment to the historic preservation of this beautiful building.